Charleston Base Inducts Dozens Into The Holland Club

These 'qualified for 50 years' submariners, many accompanied by family members, were inducted into the Holland Club:

Robert B. “Beetle” Bailey
Richard A. Carlson
William Freligh
Robert W. Gay
Robert Grabowski
Herbert P. “Jack” Harden
Charles Holycross
John E. Ilgenfritz
Jerry A. Koebel
Joseph P. LaRose
Danny L. Leonhardt
Elmer B. “Moon” Mullins, Sr.
Arthur O’Meally, Jr.
Jeffery D. Reuer
Martin K. “Marty” Sessler
Kenneth R. Turner
Donald Whitehead
Gordon Williams
Jim Williams
Thomas Yingling

The following members were not present but were inducted: Alwyn M. Byrd, Thomas R. Conrey, Roy E. Morrow, Richard Pasnak, Stanley C. “Charlie” Rook, and Jack Sumner. John Kratz will get the certificates to those who could not be present.

Base Member Clarence “Al” Lammers, who died in January, was also inducted. His certificates will be presented to his family.

Charleston Base Honors Caleb Ruer For Scholastic Achievement

Young Caleb Dean Ruer, the grandson of Charleston Base member Jeff Ruer - ICC (SS), had his moment in the spotlight when he was presented a certificate of academic recognition by Base Commander Ed Stank, made an honorary submariner, and given a very cool submariner ballcap.

Needless to say, young Caleb was quite surprised by all the fuss - as he was completely unawares of any planned ceremony.

Back To Top